First job – A new job, A new life- Life in an MNC

First Job

Hello everyone, first of all, I apologize for being MIA for such a long time.The big news is that I got a job in an MNC, my first ever job. Life had a drastic change after the job. A total lifestyle change, from the life of being a student for the last 20 years to working in the environment of a Multinational company.

At first, it felt a little overwhelming, intimidating to be in such a completely different environment, but my colleagues were so warm and friendly that the feeling quickly settled down. From the freedom and pride of earning your own money to having a sense of responsibility for the work & assignments given to you, from being able to put a smile on parent’s face and make them happy to struggling to manage a hectic schedule, life is pretty bittersweet at this moment. My morning starts pretty early at 5 AM and ends at 12:30 AM. With 9.5 hours of work and almost 5 hours of journey to and from work(all thanks to traffic jam) it really takes a toll on the body and mind. I know how much sleeping is important for our health, but sadly I am not getting enough of it. Even my eating habits changed a lot. On weekends, the only time that you get to spend with your family and go out to meet friends, junk food comes in. In one and a half months of my job life, I understood that it is really hard to stay fit with 9.5 hours of a desk job and so much journey. Work life and personal life is totally unbalanced at this moment and I am still trying to figure out on how to fit all aspects of my life in the 24 hours of a day. With time passing by I am trying to settle down and organize as much as possible. To start with, I started packing lunch and variety of snacks for office every day to eat homemade food and avoid the junk food and eat on time. Secondly, I try to take a break of 5 minutes every 2 hours( or every 1 hour if I don’t have huge work pressure) and walk around the office or walk up and down few flights of stairs, this really has an instant energizing effect and instantly uplifts your mood and you feel fresh. When I am not working much or during a break, I use my phone to call someone only if I really have to and avoid checking social media on my phone to give my eyes some cool off time and to avoid straining them. I religiously follow a skincare routine as improper sleep, irregular food, pollution, dust and long journey harms your skin a lot. My skin care routine consists of a cleansing, toning, moisturizing twice a day (CTM routine), scrubbing twice a week to keep the skin fresh and free from dead cells and face mask once or twice(if I have time) a week. A special mention of a thing that I do every day and which I believe gives me energy, positiveness, motivation and makes me happy is smiling. Every day while going to office I try to get a window seat on the bus, turn on the music on my headphones, and look outside and enjoy the nature with a big smile on my face. Since I am a month and a half into the new job with probation period for four and a half more months, wish me luck. Overall I love my new life, the work life and I hope to organize and balance my life as soon as possible.

To sort my life and make it a bit easy in this hectic schedule I would like a bit of help from my readers.

1. How do you keep a balance between your work life and personal life?
2. Any easy ideas for lunch and snacks for office?
3. Any tips for the office newbie?
4. What is the positive or motivating factor that keeps you going every day?
5. If you have a blog and you work full time, how do you manage both?
6. Any tips on how to stay fit with a desk job?

Thank you in advance and have a good day.

Wish me Luck πŸ™‚

Show some more love, share this post on Bloglovin

44 thoughts on “First job – A new job, A new life- Life in an MNC

  1. Congratz on your new job. I started mine 2 years ago and it was definitely an unforgettable experience. In regards to work life balance, I usually start my day early completing my own personal things before work as I get extremely tired after work. But you seem to start work pretty early (5am) so not sure how would you go about with that. Traffic is bad for me too. I usually get stuck in traffic for 2 hours in total per day but yours is so much crazier. I suppose I took mine for granted.

    Regards,
    Interestingly Awesome

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much dear.
      I usually wake up so early as i air dry my hair and it takes a lot of time, so i wake up, take my bath and make and pack my lunch, get ready and go. Traffic is really a big issue which takes away most of the time. I hope to sort things out and have the work life balance soon.

      Like

  2. Congratulations on the new job! It can definitely be overwhelming at first but I usually plan out my week and my mornings so that when I wake up I’ve given myself enough time to get ready and eat a full breakfast. Maintaining balance comes with time, once you get used to the worl you’re doing you’ll be able to figure out times to relax and take a break so you don’t overwork. Best of luck!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much😊😊😊
      Awesome points mentioned by you, I will try to keep them in mind, mainly the point of having a full breakfast.😊😍

      Like

  3. Congrats on the job! I think once things settle down a little more, you will be able to get into a routine. But it is really good that you are packing lunches and snacks, I think that will really help to ward off temptations of junk food!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Wow, such a long work day! I am semi-retired and work at home so really have no helpful suggestions for you. I was glad to hear you are on the bus rather than driving for all that time.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That’s great, thanks for stopping by my blog 😊😊😊 I love travelling by bus as you even meet different people and have conversation with them during your commute which is really a lovely thing😍😊

      Like

  5. Congratulations! The shift from school to work (especially with a commute) is pretty drastic but it sounds like you have a solid idea of where you want to ensure healthy living which is great! I didn’t cross that bridge until years after I started working and couldn’t figure out why I felt so beat down all the time. Peace, Rich

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Congrats on your new job! It has been a long time since I’ve worked in an office. I prefer my lifestyle of not having to stay in the same place all day and my job now allows me to do that. Still, it can be difficult to try to balance everything you need to do and stay healthy because it is so easy to stop and get junk food. I’ve been putting more effort into keeping a bottle of ice water with me and carrying crackers and fruit so I can have snacks throughout the day. I have to say that since I stopped with the fast food I don’t feel the need for an afternoon nap like I used to and I feel lighter overall. I can’t tell if I’ve lost any weight yet, but I certainly feel better. Trying to include time for my blog and writing projects in between my job and my daughter? Well, that’s something else completely. Lol! Best of luck to you!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much😊 I love the lifestyle you are living, I always wanted to be independent. Being healthy is tough in such a lifestyle but I guess it’s fun to tackle such a lifestyle. Congratulations that you feel good about your body 😊 best of luck to you too😊

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m on the other end of my worklife, and work for myself now. Here are a few thoughts for you to consider:
    (1) Eat healthy. It affects your sense of well-being and ability to concentrate.
    (2) Going out to lunch is expensive, but you have to do it once in a while to build professional relationships with colleagues.
    (3) Save money. Happiness is the ability to tell a boss to go jump when he does something to anger you. Being financially self-sufficient matters.
    (4) Hone your listening skills. Focus on asking insightful questions. That earns respect.
    (5) Jump at chances to learn new things. The more you know, the greater your value as an employee.
    (6) Don’t argue. Be diplomatic. Look for win-win solutions in every discussion.
    (7) Be polite to people you don’t know. You never know who your next customer is going to be.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for such a detailed comment explaining everything in such an awesome way. I will definitely keep all these points in my mind as I can understand that these will help me to grow😊😍 thanks for such good life lessons😊😊😊

      Like

  8. Congrats on the new job! An easy lunch option is bringing a thermos of soup. They’re quite filling and typically low calorie. I find if I eat out for lunch I over eat and I’m too lazy to make a proper meal in the morning so soups make brining a lunch easier!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much 😊 Soup is really a great idea, I will definitely try it out. It’s true that we overeat whenever we eat out, it’s very difficult to control portion size when eating out. 😊😊😊 I try to make a balanced lunch by packing Indian flatbread, mixed vegetable and salad, but everyday that is really not possible in this hectic schedule. Will definitely try to make soup and pack some for lunch😊

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much and that sounds like a great idea, but unfortunately my office won’t allow me to do that πŸ™ but I can definitely use the same at home during weekends. Something is better than nothing 😊😊😊😍

      Like

  9. Congratulations on your new job! Sounds very stressful to be in traffic for 5 hours each day, but I am glad that you seem to be adjusting pretty well despite this! Good luck! I don’t work in the office, and get most of my exercise FROM work, so don’t really know from experience any exercise tips other than what you are already doing. However, from personal experience, how I balance personal and work life are these tips: a.) I have requested (and thankfully been approved ) for specific days of the week where I will not work unless it’s an emergency or some special event at work where I HAVE to work that day. I have today off, and Wednesdays. These are the days where I try to catch up on chores, meet friends, and do church activities. b.) I also try not to jam pack these days and sleep earlier than usual so I am refreshed for the next day when I have to work.

    Like

    1. That’s so awesome…
      Congratulations firstly for your graduation and secondly for your job. Hope you reach new heights everyday and hope all your dreams come true. God bless you 😊 Remember to have food on time & have sufficient amount of sleep as we really tend to ignore those when we get busy in our job. Stay blessed, stay happy, stay healthyπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ’πŸ’πŸ’

      Like

    1. Thank you so much, I have just started😊😊 hope to reach new heights with each passing day. There won’t be any shortage of effort and hard work from my end 😊😊 Have a great day and thanks for visiting my blogπŸ˜ŠπŸ’

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Congrats on your first job! I know it’s hard to navigate at first but it’s also fun to experience something so new and different! When I started my first corporate job I actually gained like 20 pounds because of everything you mentioned. The building was also right next to a gas station so that made it even worse! But I hope that you find your way :)!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much 😊😊😊 Yes, it’s really a tedious task to stay fit in such corporate jobs, but I am trying my best to stay fit and healthy. From changing snacks with have healthier options to going for a walk, I am trying these little bits to stay active and healthy😊😊😊 have a good day and good luck to you too

      Like

  11. First, congrats on the job! And second, I think you’re already doing very good at trying to regain your balance. I remember when I first started working after finishing college. I also had to commute for 1.5 hour morning and night and it was very difficult. I don’t know if it’s a possibility for you, but if you can use public transportation so you can read or relax, it might help. Or even better if you can find a place to live that’s closer to your work place. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

